Who Doesn’t Love a Man Who Cooks?! (Listen Up You Young Guys.)

When my 29-year-old son was much younger, I taught him how to cook.  Let me just say that this has served him well – practical for himself, but also a fine advantage with the ladies!

My husband also used this trick – with me – and it worked.  He is a great cook, and he looks great in an apron.  (Not JUST an apron – shame on you!)

I am going to share with you a recipe he makes often.  I have passed it along to several of my young male clients, and they have given it the “thumbs up.”  It meets all the necessary criteria for young, busy men:  It’s quick, easy, requires very few ingredients, and it tastes amazing. Here you go. . . . See what happens!

Fire-Roasted Meat Sauce (from Runner’s World)

Brown 1 pound ground beef in a pan. Add 1 chopped onion, 1 chopped bell pepper, and 3 minced garlic cloves; cook 3 minutes. Add a 28-ounce can fire-roasted tomatoes and 5-ounce can tomato paste. Season with oregano, basil, chile flakes, salt, and pepper. Add 1/3 cup red wine and 1 tablespoon sugar. Simmer, reduce heat, and cook 1 hour.  Serve over spaghetti or penne.

DSC01514

4 responses to “Who Doesn’t Love a Man Who Cooks?! (Listen Up You Young Guys.)

  1. I used to have a red kitchen – loved it! I also think men who cook are cool – here’s my ode to my dad, and the wonderful recipehe passed along, which we are now also passing along. OO-blah-dee – Life goes on… http://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2013/11/11/dads-efforts-in-the-kitchen-often-go-unsung-lets-sing/

  2. PS – Your easy recipe is perfect for the beginning boy chef – must include something like it in my next book :)

  3. Kim, I always told my son, “women love a man that can cook” He must have heard me because today he is an accomplished chef. I enjoy your blog. Thanks. Jeanne

Leave a Reply

