Never Tried Arugula? – Give It a Whirl!

I have recently developed a fondness for arugula.  Although I consider myself adventurous when it comes to food, I don’t remember ever eating it before about a year ago.  Now I’m hooked!  It has more “kick” to it than any of the more common salad greens like Romaine, leaf, or Boston.  I have heard it described as “peppery”, but I think you have to try it to really know what it tastes like.

Nutrition benefits include Vitamins A and C, folate, calcium, and magnesium.  Like all leafy greens, it is very low in calories.  I have not eaten it cooked yet, but I love it in salads.  I used it in a salad with canned tuna, beans, and Parmesan cheese last night, and I have also enjoyed it with cooked beets and goat cheese.  I recommend some kind of vinaigrette dressing, nothing too overpowering.

Give it a try!  It’s easy to get stuck in food ruts – same old salad, same old dressing, same old toppings, . . . .   Salads are hard to ruin if you like all of the ingredients.  This is your chance to exercise a little creativity and let your wild side shine. 🙂  What’s the worst thing that can happen?

Leave a Reply

