A Tweak to My Favorite Cauliflower Mash

I have been playing with my recipe for mashed cauliflower for a while now, and last night I finally got it right.

After cooking a head of cauliflower (with core removed) in an inch of low sodium chicken broth in a covered pot until very soft, I have mashed it with various types of cheese in the past.  The first time I made it, I used an entire container (about 5 ounces) of herb and garlic Boursin cheese.  My assessment was – WAY too salty and rich.  The next several times I tried a smaller amount of reduced fat Alouette with garlic and herbs.  My opinion?  OK, but a little blah.

Last night – Voila!!  It was perfect.  After draining all but a couple tablespoons of chicken broth, I added about an ounce of the herb and garlic Boursin cheese (just a small portion of the total package) and about 3 tablespoons of plain fat free Greek yogurt, my magic fat/calorie/salt reducing ingredient.  It was fabulous!  And according to my calculations, a half cup serving is only about 75 calories.  This is a perfect example of moderation.  In this case, the low-fat cheese alternative just did not taste as good.

Try it!  If you need to adjust the ingredients a little to suit your personal taste, go ahead.  This is a great way to add more vegetables to your plate!

One response to “A Tweak to My Favorite Cauliflower Mash

  1. I’ve been hearing a lot of good things lately about Greek yogurt and how great it is for substituting. My sister-in-law used it in a cookie recipe that has been a family favorite for years. I think she said that she replaced the two sticks of butter with the yogurt.

Leave a Reply

