Happy Holidays!

I celebrated Christmas Eve with my family last night – lots of laughs, holiday spirit, and great food.  If you ever need a quick, easy, delicious meal for a crowd, try the homemade enchiladas at Cocina de Leon in Brookfield.  This tiny Mexican catering store has large pans of enchiladas in several varieties, in addition to all the fixins’, including bottled low-calorie Margarita mix.  It’s a one-stop stress reliever for holiday entertaining.  The beef barbacoa ones are my favorites, but I also like the chicken.

I made black beans and rice, and my sister made a salad.  Easy!  That left time to savor the experience.  It’s not easy getting everyone together in one location these days.  My son lives in Seattle and my daughter in NYC.  My parents are in their 80’s, and my dad has severe dementia, so every connection takes on special meaning.  Seeing him play pool was a high point of the evening.

Leave a Reply

