My Latest Cholesterol Test

Woo hoo!!  I had my cholesterol levels checked again to see if anything had changed since my last test, and I was thrilled with the results.

Total Cholesterol 201

LDL 116

Triglycerides 59

HDL 73

That is significantly improved from my last test in March 2010.  LDL declined 23 points and total cholesterol went down by 20 points.  HDL and triglycerides stayed almost the same.  I had been getting a little concerned, since the LDL and total cholesterol seemed to be creeping up the last 3 years.  I have read that this often happens during perimenopause.

I share this not just to brag – although it does feel good! – but to let you know my thoughts on the changes.  I have an overall healthy lifestyle, and have had good habits for years, but I have added one consistent change to my daily routine – WALNUTS.  Is my religious handful of walnuts daily over the past 6 months or more responsible for the improvements?  I can’t be sure.  It may just be that the numbers will change somewhat with each measurement, or that I had it tested at a different lab.

I have read a lot of good press about walnuts though.  It is possible that the improvements were the result of adding them.  I would like to think so.  Regardless, I intend to continue eating them daily.  A nice-sized handful (about 1/4 cup) is delicious and easy to incorporate.  More to follow on the health benefits!

3 responses to “My Latest Cholesterol Test

  1. That’s great news Kim. Everyone one can learn that a little perserverance and sticking to it, positive changes can and do happen. CD

  2. I’m about to recheck mine next week. I hope to see decreases like you!

Leave a Reply

