Post Workout Dreamsicle Anyone?


The Finish! I’m on the far right, crossing the finish line at lightning speed 🙂

I ran a 5K today, the first one that actually involved a little pre-event training effort on my part.  I am not a serious runner.

Still, I met both of my goals:  #1 – no knee pain, making it possible to finish, a very important part of doing well in a race!  #2 – Finish in less than 27 minutes, 30 seconds.  I completed the race in 26 minutes, 55 seconds.

Forgive me if I sound a little proud.  I am!  For someone who wasn’t sure if she could even finish a 5K without knee pain, I did well.  I sucked a lot of wind along the way, but I feel so pleased with myself now that it’s over.

Now it’s time to recover.  Many sources recommend chocolate milk for refueling muscles after a workout.  It’s not bad, but you may want to do better.  I came up with my own “recipe” for a high protein, no sugar-added, delicious refueling drink.  Here’s how:

Combine 1/2 cup 2% plain Greek yogurt (I like Fage brand best) with 1/4 cup 1% organic milk and 1/2 cup orange juice (I strongly recommend freshly squeezed – the flavor is so much better!).  Mix in a blender or use a wire whip to blend.

My restorative tools: a super-charged protein drink and a foam roller

The flavor reminds me of the dreamsicles of my childhood, and the thick texture and nutrient packed ingredients feel like just what my body is screaming for after a good workout.  Take a look at the comparison with chocolate milk’s nutrition facts, and draw your own conclusions.  I’m sticking with my new favorite!

12 oz of Kim’s super refueling protein drink contains 172 calories, 14g protein, and 16g sugar (none of which is “added sugar”) vs . . . . (drumroll, please) . . .

12 oz of lowfat (2%) chocolate milk contains 250 calories, 10g protein, and 35g of sugar (about 18g of which is “added sugar” – that’s 4.5 teaspoons!).

As for preventing overly sore legs and knees, there is nothing like my foam roller.

8 responses to “Post Workout Dreamsicle Anyone?

  1. Way to go Kim!
    I love smoothies using the Greek yogurt, milk and frozen fruit! Sometimes I throw in spinach.

  2. Congratulations! Whoop whoop! Insert happy dance here! You did it!

  3. Good job, that’s a great time! You must have been running at a steady clip. I also like to make smoothies at home, chocolate milk is just way too sweet.

Leave a Reply

