A Whole New Outlook

Here is a great example of what happens to attitude when people approach weight loss with a long-term outlook.  (from one of my group participants)

I’ve changed.

Every summer my family (6 siblings, spouses, children) get together one weekend in summer for a Brewer game and associated frivolity.  By frivolity, I mean:  lotsa beer, food, music, sun, fun and story telling.  It starts on Saturday . . . and goes on until about noon today (Sun) after we finish a home-cooked breakfast (by my master short order chef sis-in-law).  Then they all take off . . . .

I’m sitting in my living room with a houseful of sleeping relatives (6:30 am).  When I finish this e-mail, I’ll get ready to leave for morning spin and training.  When I’m done at (the club), I’ll join all for the departure feast.

Fitness and healthier living is all so much a part of my life now that I WANT to do this in spite of all of these family activities.  I’m not missing anything (except drinking and eating a little less) and I come out of the whole weekend feeling a TON better than I did in prior years.

My point?  I’m doing this because I want to.  It’s for me and only for me.  I’m not offending anyone, although I’m sure some think I’m crazy.  Sure, I could’ve taken the whole weekend “off” – but I wouldn’t come out of it feeling as good.  And there’s always a relaxing nap on the deck waiting for me this afternoon.

I didn’t really have the knack for taking care of my own needs when this BIG family was around.  I’m the oldest female (caregiver role).  It feels good to put ME first – and realize that the world doesn’t stop spinning on its axis when I do!

This kind of attitude takes time to develop – so give it the time. . . and practice.  It is not natural for many of us to make ourselves a top priority.  On top of that, habits are not conscious, making them resistant to change without focused attention.

The good news:  This is what really happens when you keep with it.

2 responses to “A Whole New Outlook

  1. Being from a large family myself I can totally relate. Carving out a piece of time for yourself during chao is important in order to keep your focus.

  2. I am also from a large family. I grew up being very open to limited personal space (had to!), but also treasuring my quiet alone time.

Leave a Reply

