What Can I Eat On An Airplane?

This is a tough question for many people to answer.  With airport security, there are limited options for foods to pack for longer flights.  You can forget the usual yogurt, unless you pay $5 for a small carton at the airport.

I faced this dilemma recently, knowing I was going to be on the plane for 4-1/2 hours, and knowing that I simply am not happy (or fun to be around) when I have to wait too long for food . . . grrrrr – just ask my husband.

Hibiscus Flower at the Huntington Botanical Gardens in Pasadena

Here is what I ended up taking that worked well:

1.  a bag of walnuts

2.  a piece of fruit

3.  a small dark chocolate bar

4.  a packet of instant oatmeal and a plastic spoon – just ask for hot water

I did not need it all during the flight, but it was nice to know I had  it.  If I had gone on the plane empty-handed, my options would have been cookies and pretzels.  It pays to plan ahead.

Food as Fashion: A Nebraska Cornhusker Fan On His Way to the Big Game in Pasadena Today (Not why I’m here – Go Badgers!)

6 responses to “What Can I Eat On An Airplane?

  1. I like all of these ideas, especially the oatmeal packet. I must try that on my next trip.

  2. On my flight to new york i was stuck with little packs of cookies and pretzels. And I was starving by the time we landed. I didn’t want the corner beef sandwich that you could buy from the flight menu. A good snack for me is a bag of peanuts, walnuts, almonds and m&ms. You are right to say we should always pack a snack!

    • I have felt stuck like that – no options but the salty, fatty choices on the plane. it’s really worth a few minutes of planning. I like your snack idea! p.s. guess where I am? Your general area – San Jose! Going to the Shoreline Amphitheater tonight.

  3. Just logged into wordpress today and saw your comment. Hope you are enjoyed/or enjoyed your visit to Norcal! Isn’t it a lovely place? Haha, I’m sure you’ve been here before. Were you going to see your son perform? I think you mentioned something about that before..

    • Yes, they opened for Dave Matthews at the Shoreline Amphitheater in Mountainview – one of 7 shows they opened for him. It was beyond special to see my son there, with Dave, as that was the first concert he ever attended when he was dreaming of his own music career. He always dreamed of opening for him – so cool! And yes, it IS a lovely place.

Leave a Reply

