There is nothing wrong with being a “slow-ass turtle”

Here is another example of the the wisdom that comes from participants in my groups – absolutely brilliant!

My motto is you live once, do everything in moderation………not everyday will you go eat a fish fry, but if you are out on a Fri and feel like one because you do not like baked trout, then by all means order the fried one and make up for it the next day.Β  All these diets are great, but for life you cannot tell me that these people will not go back eating carbs, or cake, cookies, alcohol, etc.

I know I’d rather be a slowass turtle and keep losing a 1/4-lb here and there versus lose 30 and then regain 50!

I just want to be someone that eats well, exercises smart, and doesn’t break my back or starve myself to do so……… I don’t want to constantly worry about my size or what others may think as I want to be satisfied with me and that’s the biggest journey of all.Β  Trust me, others that do not “diet” do not want to hear about calories, fat grams, and pounds lost or gained………I do not want that to be the focus of my life πŸ™‚

6 responses to “There is nothing wrong with being a “slow-ass turtle”

  1. Here’s to the slow ass turtles! This applies to my experiment with running also. As an “over 50 something,” I instinctually felt that running was not a form of fitness that should be in my plan. But I caved under pressure from folks who kept telling me about the benefits of running and tried it. Just getting over a 3 week low back strain from the experiment… Gonna listen to that inner voice better from now on! Fitness? Absolutely! Fitness related injuries? Not worth it for me!

  2. πŸ™‚

  3. One more comment on this and then I’ll be quiet… I was just doing my favorite Saturday a.m. things, drinking coffee while catching up on Kim’s blogs and reading my magazines. I have to share a Dr Oz quote from the Apr edition of Good Housekeeping on the value of losing weight the “slow-ass turtle” way. (Not his words, of course) but these are his words: “willpower will never trump the biology of blubber – you can’t undo millennia of biological programming.” He was describing why people who stay with reasonable weight loss goals ( max of 2-3 lbs / week ) will do better than those who try it the rapid, food deprivation way.

    • I missed that one on Dr. Oz – thanks for posting it πŸ™‚

      Contrary to the “slow-ass turtle”, I have seen the 17-day diet book where they claim a new way to weight loss of fast loss is a better approach than the slow-ass way? It seems for anything when it comes to dieting and foods there will always be a flip side for the remark?…………. I still like the slow-ass way πŸ™‚

    • Brilliant! Willpower is great, but we need more permanent habits that take less intense effort.

Leave a Reply

