Still looking for the magic bullet? Then you are not ready for a solution yet.

These are some comments taken from a recent e-mail I received.  Are you more like the author of the e-mail or the person she mentions?
Ran into a colleague . . . .
 As we talked, she said:  “you’ve lost weight – how did you do it? I’ve been trying and I’ve lost 15 lbs, but can’t seem to get past that.”
Where do I start…
I tried to tell her about my experience using a personal trainer; she said she tried that but the trainer wanted her to work on balance and she said, “you don’t understand, . . .  I don’t have any balance.  That ship has sailed.”  The trainer kept attempting, so she decided she was a bad trainer.
I tried to tell her about eating whole foods in their original state and passing on processed and fast foods. . .
I didn’t get very far. In the end it was all about the problems of post menopausal women and heredity (her mom had the big belly shape) – and there was nothing she could do about it.
I wanted to scream. “I’M POST MENOPAUSAL.  I HAVE FAT BODIES IN MY FAMILY – I HAD A FAT BODY – I DON’T HAVE A FAT BODY NOW – I HAD NO BALANCE – WHILE NOT PERFECT, I HAVE MUCH IMPROVED BALANCE NOW!!!”
But, I knew she really didn’t want to hear it.  She wanted to believe there was nothing she could do about it.
So, I have to decide how I want to respond to people who bring up the subject with me.  I think they’re hoping to hear of some magic formula, and when they don’t hear it in the first 2 minutes – they tune me out.
Leave a Reply

