Need a new healthy (gourmet! easy!) snack?

I have been in a snacking rut lately.  Same old same old.  Plain Greek yogurt, a fresh peach, cinnamon, and a dash of brown sugar – delicious, by the way, but even delicious snacks get boring after a while.

Lying in bed this morning, inspiration hit!  Pathetic, I know, that my first thoughts of the day are about what my snack will be.  Nevertheless,  I was quite pleased with my new creation.  My ingredients:  3 slices from a large fresh garden tomato (from our garden), a slice of low-fat Swiss cheese, 4 thin slices of avocado, and about a tablespoon of hummus.

I layered them:  tomato slice, 1/2 of the hummus, 2 avocado slices, 1/2 slice of cheese, tomato slice, the other 1/2 of the hummus, the remaining avocado and cheese, and the last tomato slice on top.  I drizzled a little balsamic vinegar over it.

This turned out to be beautiful on the plate and a very nice blend of flavors.  I thoroughly enjoyed it.  It made me think about mixing things up a bit.  It’s just so easy to get into a habit; there’s no thinking required.  Still, a particularly appetizing snack really does more than just “get the job done”!

On top of all that, my little creation delivers about 25% of my daily calcium needs, along with a good bit of healthy fat and disease-preventing phytonutrients.  Looks delicious, doesn’t it?

DSC02435

Leave a Reply

