Do you avoid mirrors?

This time I made them face the mirror!

This time I made them face the mirror!

I had a very interesting experience I would like to share with you.  This morning, I walked into an exercise class 5 minutes late, grabbed my equipment, and looked for a place to set up.  As I scanned the room for an empty spot, I thought, “Oh, weird, it looks like the class is being taught in a circle today.”

The teacher was in front – as usual – facing the class with her back to the large mirror on the wall in the front of the room.  Three quarters of the wall on that side is mirrored, with a space on either side that has no view of it.  The class was spread out in a horseshoe shape in front of the instructor, with a denser group on the “blind sides.”  A few people faced the mirror, but they were practically touching the back wall.  Only those with eagle vision could have seen themselves clearly from that far back!

I started to cram myself between people to fit into this odd semi-circle,  commenting to the woman next to me, “Oh, a circle today?”  She said, “no” but offered no further explanation.  Then the instructor and I had a laugh and she made a crack about how there was no one in the expansive space in the center.

I settled my equipment right in the middle of the room – more space to move!

We chatted after class, and I mentioned that I have seen this happen many times before in my group discussions – not the circle thing, but mirror-avoidance .   People do not like to be facing the mirror, . . . or, if they must, they will be as far away from it as possible.

The instructor said, “Yeah, I think it’s worse in winter.  Everyone is eating more, and they don’t like to see what that looks like in the mirror.”

Hmmm.  Interesting, don’t you think?  Are you a mirror avoider?  I think it is time to make friends with our image.  We can modify it somewhat, but acceptance now is important for even initiating that journey.

2 responses to “Do you avoid mirrors?

  1. I admit, I am one of those people that avoids the mirrors! I hide in the back corner where no one can see me and where I don’t have to look at me wobbling as I jump up and down! I hope as I lose weight I will become more confidant and perhaps move forward a bit 🙂

Leave a Reply

