By the Book: Not the Best Way to Raise Children . . . or Manage Your Weight

Babies appreciate a relaxed attitude!

Babies appreciate a relaxed attitude!

My clients frequently display signs of brilliance!  After a great start to a slow and steady weight loss – after decades of yo-yo swings – one of my recent superstars was trying to explain how different her attitude is now.

“This reminds me of when my kids were little.  I tried to raise the first one by the book . . . to do everything perfectly . . . I was nerved up a lot!  Then the second one came along, and I was just more flexible.  For instance, a bottle now and then was OK with me, even though I had thought I should never do that with the first child.

I was more relaxed . . . quite frankly, the flexibility made me a better parent.  That’s the way I feel about my weight loss plans now.  I try to follow sensible guidelines most of the time, but when that doesn’t make sense, I just do the best I can . . . I wiggle the plan to meet my needs.  I stress less, and I am losing, not as quickly as in the past, but I am not as worried about going back up either.”

Didn’t I tell you I have brilliant clients!  I couldn’t have come up with a better analogy if I had tried.

Leave a Reply

