Looking for a tasty, quick breakfast?

photo

What to eat. . . what to eat . . . hmmm . . . .

Yes, I ask this question too!

This morning I needed to get going quickly but I also needed a decent breakfast that would last me about 4 hours.  I came up with this beautiful and delicious combo full of protein, healthy fat, and vegetables.

I boiled a couple of eggs for 7 minutes (nice and gooey inside!) and settled them on a nest of leftover roasted vegetables – another reason to keep some roasted veggies on hand.  Mine included red peppers, purple onion, carrots, eggplant, mushrooms, and cauliflower.

A little salt and pepper on top, and this really did the trick:  satisfied my hunger and got some vegetables in the tank early in the day.  If I had been heading for a tough workout, I may have added a piece of fruit for extra fuel, but this was fine for today.

If you’ve never roasted vegetables, I assure you that you can do it!  Anyone can do it.

Kim’s Roasted Vegetables

Put roughly chopped vegetables into a roasting pan and drizzle with olive oil. Add salt and pepper to taste. Cook in a 400 degree oven for about ½ hour (time depends on the type of vegetables used). Toss once or twice during the cooking time. Here are some of my favorite combos:

Eggplant chunks, purple onion, carrots, zucchini, and mushrooms – sometimes I drizzle a little aged balsamic vinegar at the end.

Parsnips, carrots, and purple onion – a nice winter medley

Brussels sprouts and . . . more Brussels sprouts – I love them all by themselves; they get a little crispy – mmm!

 

Leave a Reply

